UN in our Region

UN in the Pacific – The UN System has three Sub-regional Offices in the Pacific located in Fiji, Papua New Guinea and Samoa, led by UN Resident Coordinators who are representatives of the UN Secretary General in country. The UN Office in Fiji covers 10 Pacific Island Countries (PICs), the Samoa Office covers four and Papua New Guinea has its own office.

UN offices in Australia
UNIC Canberra – The formal UN presence in Australia and the principal local source of information about the United Nations system. Its information-related responsibilities also extend to Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Samoa, Tuvalu, Tonga and Vanuatu.

UNHCR Regional Office – Based in Canberra Australia, the office is responsible for the promotion and protection of refugee rights in the region which includes Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and the Pacific.

IOM Australia– IOM is the leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners.